award winning historical novelist

Sara Donati is the author of eight historical novels set in the United States between 1790 and 1885. Her most recent novel is The Gilded Hour.  The sequel, Where the Light Enters, will be out in 2019 with Penguin/Berkley.

“Spellbinding… Captivating… The 752 pages were not enough. …But this novel is more than its setting: it also is an enthralling love story, a heartwarming celebration of human kindness, and a wonderfully convoluted world of characters whose destinies are left tantalizingly suspended.”

Melinda Bargreen, Seattle Times

“Another meticulously researched period drama with dashes of mystery and romance … Page-turning and atmospheric.”

Kirkus Reviews

News, announcements, etc

are posted here and on the Sara Donati page on FaceBook.





The Waverly Place Series

Washington Square ca 1865

The first novel in the new series, The Gilded Hour, came out in 2015. The second novel, Where the Light Enters, was completed in late 2017 but will not be published until 2019. This is up to the publisher, and not to the author.

A simplified wiki about New York City in the 1880s and the novels in this series can be found at The Gilded Hour website.